Tuesday, October 27, 2020

NERD BLAST: Strongman: The Rise of Five Dictators and The Fall of Democracy by Kenneth C. Davis

 

Today, we have a 5-day Nerd Blast to share for New York Times Bestselling Author Kenneth C. Davis' Strongman: The Rise of Five Dictators and the Fall of Democracy, available now! So... Be sure to check it out and grab your copy now!

Genre:
Adult
History/Nonfiction
Publish Date:
October 6, 2020
Publisher:

Synopsis:
From the bestselling author of the Don’t Know Much About® books comes a dramatic account of the origins of democracy, the history of authoritarianism, and the reigns of five of history's deadliest dictators.

What makes a country fall to a dictator? How do authoritarian leaders—strongmen—capable of killing millions acquire their power? How are they able to defeat the ideal of democracy? And what can we do to make sure it doesn’t happen again?

By profiling five of the most notoriously ruthless dictators in history—Adolf Hitler, Benito Mussolini, Joseph Stalin, Mao Zedong, and Saddam Hussein—Kenneth C. Davis seeks to answer these questions, examining the forces in these strongmen’s personal lives and historical periods that shaped the leaders they’d become. Meticulously researched and complete with photographs, Strongman provides insight into the lives of five leaders who callously transformed the world and serves as an invaluable resource in an era when democracy itself seems in peril.


       
   

~~~

Praise for STRONGMAN: THE RISE OF FIVE DICTATORS AND THE FALL OF DEMOCRACY

* "History’s warnings reverberate in this gripping read about five dictatorial strongmen. A pitch-perfect balance of nuanced reflection and dire warning." ―Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Strongman is a book that is both deeply researched and deeply felt, both an alarming warning and a galvanizing call to action, both daunting and necessary to read and discuss." ―Cynthia Levinson, author of Fault Lines in the Constitution

"A wake-up call to democracies like ours: we are not immune to despots . . . Strongman demonstrates that democracy is not permanent, unless it is collectively upheld. This book shakes that immortality narrative." ―Jessica Ellison, President of the Minnesota Council for the Social Studies

"Rarely does a history book take such an unflinching look at our common future, where the very presence of democracy is less than certain; even rarer is a history book in which the author’s moral convictions incite young readers to civic engagement; rarest of all, a history book as urgent, as impassioned, and as timely as Kenneth C. Davis’ Strongman." ―Eugene Yelchin, author of the Newbery Honor book Breaking Stalin’s Nose

"[I] . . . found myself engrossed in it from beginning to end. I could not help admiring [Davis's] ability to explain complex ideas in readable prose . . . very much a book for our time." ―Sam Wineburg, author of Why Learn History (When It's Already on Your Phone)

"At a time when dictators are rampant in such countries as North Korea, Turkey, China, Russia, and others, Davis’ deep dive into the lives of five of history’s most notorious dictators (or strongmen as he calls them)―Mussolini, Hitler, Stalin, Mao, and Hussein―is apposite and timely." ―Booklist

~~~~~

**About the Author**
Photo Credit: Nina Subin
Kenneth C. Davis is the New York Times–bestselling author of America’s Hidden History and Don’t Know Much About® History, which gave rise to the Don’t Know Much About® series of books for adults and children. He is also the author of the critically acclaimed In the Shadow of Liberty, which was an ALA Notable Book and a finalist for the YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction, as well as More Deadly Than War, which was named a Washington Post Best Children's Book of the Month. A frequent guest on national television and radio and a Ted-Ed Educator, Davis lives in New York City.

Stay connected with Kenneth C. Davis
      

~~~~~

***The Giveaway***


Giveaway Open Internationally | Must be 13+ to Enter
- ends November 16, 2020
Note: Not Responsible for Lost & Damaged Prizes in Your Mail Box
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Nerd Blast Organized by

Monday, October 26, 2020

NERD BLAST: A Time For Monsters by Gareth Worthington

 

Today, we have a 5-day Nerd Blast to kick off for Award-winning Author Gareth Worthington's A Time For Monsters, coming May 11, 2021! So... Be sure to check it out and pre-order your copy now!

Genre:
Adult
Suspense/Thriller
Publish Date:
May 11, 2021
Publisher:

Synopsis:
Only a monster can do the wrong things for the right reasons.

Do you remember the first tape or CD you ever bought? Perhaps you waited for the local station to play the top forty songs on a Sunday so you could record your favorite band. Maybe you downloaded a certain track that reminded you of your wedding day or a graduation.

Reyna Blackburn remembers. Every single song for every horrific event in her life. She remembers what song was playing on the radio the first time he hurt her. And she remembers what was playing through her headphones the first time she killed.


     

~~~

Praise for A TIME FOR MONSTERS

"A hell-raising revenge tale for fans of Gillian Flynn, Stieg Larsson and Karen Slaughter that forces readers down a dark road with an unexpected twist." ―Monique Snyman, Bram Stoker Awards Nominee

~~~~~

**About the Author**
Photo Content from Gareth Worthington
Gareth Worthington is a trained marine biologist and also holds a doctorate in comparative endocrinology. Currently, Gareth works full time for the Pharmaceutical industry helping to educate the World's doctors on new cancer therapies. In his spare time Gareth has a number of passions, including: martial arts - he trained in Muay Thai at the prestigious EVOLVE MMA gym in Singapore and currently trains in MMA at Phoenix Sportkampf, Switzerland; playing acoustic guitar; studying ancient history; drawing; and most of all writing fiction.

An award winning author, he hopes to one day hang up the pharma hat and write full time.

Stay connected with Gareth Worthington
       

~~~~~

***The Giveaway***


Giveaway Open Internationally | Must be 13+ to Enter
- ends November 16, 2020
Note: Not Responsible for Lost & Damaged Prizes in Your Mail Box
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Nerd Blast Organized by

Friday, October 23, 2020

BLOG TOUR: The Bone Carver by Monique Snyman


Welcome to the Official Blog Tour for 2018 Bram Stoker Awards Nominee Monique Snyman's The Bone Carver, the second title in The Night Weaver series! Today, on our tour stop, we have my review on this new read! Plus, we have a tour-wide giveaway to share, too! So... Be sure to check out what I thought about The Bone Carver and grab your copy now! Follow the tour (tour schedule at end of this post)!

Genre:
Young Adult
Horror/Fantasy
Series:
The Night Weaver, #2
(Harrowsgate, #2)
Publish Date:
October 20, 2020
Publisher:

Synopsis:
For a small New England town, Shadow Grove has an uncanny ability to attract the worst kind of trouble. Not that the residents are too concerned about the various horrors living among them.

As the leaves change color and the weather grows colder, a foul presence is making itself known by leaving peculiar gifts for the students of Ridge Crest High. At first the presents seem harmless—and a rash of accidents seem coincidental—but when seniors Rachel Cleary and her Scottish cousin, Dougal Mackay, find a boneless body in the boiler room, things take an ominous turn.

Something vicious is on the loose in Shadow Grove, and not knowing whether Orion Nebulius will ever return, Rachel has very little hope of anyone making it out alive.


      
  
*FREE on Kindle Unlimited*

~~~

Don't miss the first book in The Night Weaver series!
 
(cover links to Goodreads)

         
*FREE on Kindle Unlimited*


~~~~~

**About the Author**
Monique Snyman’s mind is a confusing bedlam of glitter and death, where candy-coated gore is found in abundance and homicidal unicorns thrive. Sorting out the mess in her head is particularly irksome before she’s ingested a specific amount of coffee, which is equal to half the recommended intake of water for humans per day. When she’s not playing referee to her imaginary friends or trying to overdose on caffeine, she’s doing something with words—be it writing, reading, or editing.

Monique Snyman lives in Pretoria, South Africa, with her husband and an adorable Chihuahua. She’s the author of the Bram Stoker Award® nominated novel, The Night Weaver, which is the first installment in a dark fantasy series for young adults.

Stay connected with Monique Snyman
     
  

~~~~~

*My Thoughts*

Note: This Review contains NO spoilers

Welcome back for another round with Rachel Cleary against a new Miser Fae, the Bone Carver. Monique Snyman brings in part two of her Night Weaver series and it is hauntingly beautiful, mysterious, and non-stop suspense.
 
The Bone Carver gives power to its female characters, adds onto different side stories that were alluded to in the previous book, The Night Weaver, and is detailed in every chapter to send chills throughout the body. Snyman begins the book with Rachel already in an intense situation, the SAT. Despite having fought with the Night Weaver in the summer, she retains her usual school life and high achieving attitude. The pressure of having high goals and getting into a top-notch university, weighing on her shoulders, Rachel leaves for a break down in a rarely used restroom. And it is within these first moments that something seems amiss. In a bathroom stall, she finds an intricate carving of fellow classmate, Mercia Holstein, contorted in pain. The suspense in each chapter flows smoothly into the next and leaves me wanting to know what happens next.
 
The Bone Carver still includes favorite characters like Rachel’s cousin Dougal and Mrs. Crenshaw, but gives the spotlight to new more badass characters that we never got to see in the previous book. Such as Mercia is an old friend of Rachel’s who she fell out of touch with. She is a helpful ally in Rachel’s fight against the Bone Carver for her skills in magic and witchcraft. She’s snarky, guarded, and confident. The reader will also be formally introduced to Nova, Orion’s brother. Although he seemed intimidating and threatening in The Night Weaver he presents himself still rather reasonable and calm. But this doesn’t stop Rachel. This brings out Rachel’s courageous fighting spirit, as she punches the Fae ruler square in the face. The Bone Carver is as sadistic as his carvings are meticulous. Each character has some layer of depth and backstory that shows the reader how important they are.
 
The book is told in third person and follows Rachel from running around Shadow Grove to the basement of the old schoolhouse to the Fae Realm. There are different stories that coincide with Rachel and companies’ fight with the Bone Carver. And with all these details, Snyman cleverly writes in details that connect and builds up the story not only to the final villain but also foreshadows another book. The Night Weaver is an ever changing and growing world, that makes it difficult to drop my curiosity. Overall, I have few to no complaints for The Bone Carver. The worst I can say is that the wording is a bit odd in some chapters that made me pause and reread the sentence.

My rating:

~~~~~

***The Giveaway***

Note: Not Responsible for Lost & Damaged Prizes in Your Mail Box
a Rafflecopter giveaway

~~~~~

Tour Schedule

October 19th
Read More, Sleep Less | Review
Feywild Books | Review


October 20th
Mahkjchi’s Not-So-Secret Books | Review

October 21st
Gwendalyn Books | Review

October 22nd
Good Choice Reading | Review

October 23rd
Just Jaime Reviews | Review
Movies Shows & Books | Review



Blog Tour Organized by